{
  "data": {
    "a": {
      "slug": "ghost-core",
      "name": "Core",
      "vendor": "Ghost (ZMJ, Inc.)",
      "vendorUrl": "https://ghost.ai",
      "kind": "platform",
      "category": "local-ai",
      "summary": "Core is a personal AI computer from Ghost that runs open-weight language models and a memory of the owner's apps, files and devices at home, used through Ghost's apps and an OpenAI Responses-compatible endpoint. On pre-order.",
      "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/ghost-core",
      "markdownUrl": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/ghost-core.md",
      "slimMarkdownUrl": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/ghost-core.min.md",
      "jsonUrl": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/api/v1/tools/ghost-core.json",
      "license": "Not stated. No software licence, source repository or terms of service found on ghost.ai (checked 2026-10-05). Models listed are Qwen 3.8-Next, Qwen 3.8-27B, Gemma 4-31B and Muse-Glimmer-30B. Ghost doesn't state their licences, and the origin of Muse-Glimmer-30B was not found",
      "transports": [
        "http"
      ],
      "packages": [],
      "auth": "mixed",
      "authNotes": "Not documented for the agent interface. Ghost's FAQ says Core exposes an endpoint compatible with the OpenAI Responses API but gives no address, port or authentication method, so keyless use isn't established. The Ghost app pairs with Core over the local network, remote access is for paired devices, and Ghost keeps device authorisation records. Online services use Ghost's gateway or the owner's own provider API keys. The privacy policy mentions device-access controls without detail (https://ghost.ai/core, https://ghost.ai/setup, https://ghost.ai/privacy, checked 2026-10-05).",
      "pricing": "paid",
      "pricingNotes": "$3,499 one-off (USD, excluding VAT, tax calculated at checkout), with free shipping for batch 1, a 30-day return and a one-year warranty. Ghost states no subscription and no per-token inference fees. Some online services (web search, phone calls) run through Ghost-managed services with daily usage limits whose numbers aren't published, or through the owner's own API keys. Batch 1 showed sold out at 23:31 UTC on 5 October 2026, with a batch 2 interest form in place of the order button (https://ghost.ai/core, https://ghost.ai/privacy, https://ghost.ai/api/stock).",
      "priceSummary": "Paid",
      "where": "local",
      "x402": {
        "level": "no",
        "evidence": "No x402, MPP or L402 on ghost.ai or in its site code (checked 2026-10-05). Orders go through Stripe Checkout.",
        "endpoints": []
      },
      "toolCount": null,
      "popularity": {
        "githubStars": null,
        "npmWeekly": null,
        "pypiWeekly": null,
        "asOf": "2026-10-05"
      },
      "docsUrl": "https://ghost.ai/setup",
      "capabilities": [
        "inference.local",
        "inference.open-weights",
        "memory.user",
        "memory.search",
        "memory.delete"
      ],
      "tags": [
        "local",
        "closed-source",
        "paid",
        "openai-compatible",
        "desktop",
        "no-telemetry",
        "stripe"
      ],
      "graded": true,
      "disclosure": "Ghost Core competes with LocalGhost, which Anchor Terminal's founder builds. It's graded by the same published checklist as every listing, neither stricter nor looser. Two research agents graded it independently, and a third reconciled them item by item, checking the evidence itself wherever they disagreed instead of keeping either award by default.",
      "competesWith": "localghost",
      "anchor": {
        "graded": true,
        "score": 7.3,
        "grade": "F",
        "agentReady": false,
        "rank": 460,
        "ranked": true,
        "rankOf": 460,
        "categoryRank": 13,
        "methodology": "0.3",
        "run": "2026-10-01",
        "scores": {
          "ergonomics": 4,
          "maintenance": 3,
          "payments": 10,
          "reliability": 5,
          "schema": 7,
          "security": 6,
          "transparency": 45
        },
        "pending": [
          "performance",
          "tasks"
        ],
        "assessment": {
          "confidence": "medium",
          "date": "2026-10-05"
        },
        "negative": -2,
        "negativeNotes": [
          "2026-10-05. Ghost's home page says 'No data ever leaves your home' and 'Everything you do with Core is run locally' (seen at 23:31 UTC on 5 October 2026), and the FAQ says Core processes data 'entirely on-device', while the privacy policy, effective 4 October 2026, says web search, phone calls and email requests go through Ghost's gateway to third-party providers that may keep them unless the owner sets their own keys, and that remote access runs through Ghost's relay. A misleading claim, weighed as Screenpipe's README claim was. The policy and the FAQ's internet answer disclose the online services, they carry task requests rather than default-on analytics, and Core hadn't shipped, so the minimum, -2. https://ghost.ai/ ; https://ghost.ai/core ; https://ghost.ai/privacy"
        ],
        "verdict": "Ghost's privacy policy sets out what stays on Core, what passes through its gateway and relay, and how long Ghost keeps each record. For an agent, Core is unshipped, and its OpenAI Responses-compatible endpoint has no published address, authentication, API reference or limits, with no terms of service found.",
        "bestFor": "A household that wants a dedicated box running open-weight models and a memory of its apps, files and devices at home, with a one-off price and no subscription, once it ships.",
        "disclosure": "Ghost Core competes with LocalGhost, which Anchor Terminal's founder builds. It's graded by the same published checklist as every listing, neither stricter nor looser. Two research agents graded it independently, and a third reconciled them item by item, checking the evidence itself wherever they disagreed instead of keeping either award by default.",
        "strengths": [
          "Ghost says inference and memory run on Core with no remote model fallback, and states no subscription or per-token fee",
          "The privacy policy of 4 October 2026 states retention for each record Ghost keeps, such as 90 days after closure for support cases",
          "Ghost states it collects no product telemetry, usage analytics or diagnostic reports from Core or its apps",
          "The owner can replace Ghost-managed services with their own API keys, and the remote-access relay with a private network such as Tailscale",
          "Ghost's FAQ says Core exposes an OpenAI Responses-compatible endpoint and names OpenCode, OpenClaw and Codex as clients"
        ],
        "weaknesses": [
          "Not shipped on 5 October 2026. Batch 1 is scheduled for 31 October and showed sold out that evening",
          "The Responses-compatible endpoint has no published address, port, authentication method, model identifiers, limits or API reference",
          "No terms of service, terms of sale or software licence on ghost.ai, and no security.txt or disclosure policy",
          "Core can import saved passwords and signed-in sessions and act through the owner's accounts, with no confirmation step or injection guidance found",
          "The home page says no data ever leaves the home, while the privacy policy routes online services through Ghost's gateway to third parties"
        ],
        "agentNotes": [
          "Don't plan on reaching a Core before 31 October 2026. Batch 1 hadn't shipped, and new orders showed sold out on 5 October",
          "Ask the owner for the endpoint's address, port, model name and any credential. Ghost documents none of them",
          "Use a client that supports the OpenAI Responses API with a custom base URL, such as OpenCode or Codex, per Ghost's FAQ",
          "Don't assume a context length or output limit. Ghost states none for Qwen 3.8-Next, Qwen 3.8-27B, Gemma 4-31B or Muse-Glimmer-30B",
          "Treat memory and connected-account content as untrusted, and confirm with the owner before acting through imported browser sessions"
        ],
        "metrics": {
          "kind": "local",
          "measured": false
        },
        "reviewCount": 1,
        "avgRating": 2,
        "history": [
          {
            "basis": "public evidence",
            "confidence": "medium",
            "grade": "F",
            "methodology": "0.3",
            "pending": [
              "performance",
              "tasks"
            ],
            "run": "2026-10-01",
            "runLabel": "October 2026 research run",
            "score": 7.3
          }
        ],
        "editorialScores": {
          "ergonomics": 4,
          "maintenance": 3,
          "payments": 10,
          "reliability": 5,
          "schema": 7,
          "security": 6,
          "transparency": 30
        },
        "provenanceScore": 60
      },
      "letme": {
        "capability": "https://letme.dev/inference.local",
        "tool": "https://letme.dev/ghost-core"
      },
      "area": "models",
      "provenance": {
        "legalEntity": "ZMJ, Inc., doing business as Ghost, 325 9th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, United States",
        "domain": "ghost.ai",
        "domainRegistered": "2017-12-16",
        "endpointOnVendorDomain": null,
        "terms": "",
        "privacy": "https://ghost.ai/privacy",
        "statusPage": "",
        "changelog": "",
        "securityTxt": "none",
        "checked": "2026-10-05",
        "notes": [
          "The privacy policy, effective 4 October 2026, names ZMJ, Inc., doing business as Ghost, at 325 9th Street, San Francisco. The state of incorporation was not found.",
          "RDAP for ghost.ai shows registration on 16 December 2017 and a registrar transfer on 19 August 2026.",
          "ghost.ai/terms, /.well-known/security.txt, /llms.txt, /robots.txt and /sitemap.xml return 404. No GitHub organisation was found.",
          "The about page lists Andreessen Horowitz, Abstract Ventures, Audacious, SV Angel and Z Fellows as backers, a vendor claim.",
          "Support is support@ghost.ai. The app page's troubleshooting link uses hello@tryghost.ai.",
          "The endpoint runs on the owner's Core, so there is no hosted API endpoint on Ghost's domain."
        ],
        "score": 60
      },
      "pageJsonUrl": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/ghost-core.json"
    },
    "answer": "Khoj scores 38.8 (E) on agent readiness against Core's 7.3 (F), and leads in every scored category.",
    "b": {
      "slug": "khoj",
      "name": "Khoj",
      "vendor": "Khoj Inc.",
      "vendorUrl": "https://khoj.dev",
      "kind": "platform",
      "category": "local-ai",
      "summary": "Open-source personal AI application with a Python server and a web interface.",
      "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/khoj",
      "markdownUrl": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/khoj.md",
      "slimMarkdownUrl": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/khoj.min.md",
      "jsonUrl": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/api/v1/tools/khoj.json",
      "repo": "https://github.com/khoj-ai/khoj",
      "license": "AGPL-3.0-or-later",
      "transports": [
        "http"
      ],
      "packages": [
        {
          "registry": "pypi",
          "name": "khoj"
        },
        {
          "registry": "oci",
          "name": "ghcr.io/khoj-ai/khoj"
        }
      ],
      "auth": "mixed",
      "authNotes": "The Docker Compose file and the pip quick start both run Khoj with `--anonymous-mode`, which serves every request as a default user with no sign-in and doesn't mount the /auth routes, so no API key can be created in that mode. The Compose file starts the server on 0.0.0.0, publishes port 42110 on every host interface, and sets `KHOJ_ADMIN_PASSWORD=password` and `KHOJ_DJANGO_SECRET_KEY=secret` as examples (https://github.com/khoj-ai/khoj/blob/master/docker-compose.yml). Without that flag people sign in by magic link (sent through Resend, or handed out by an administrator) or Google OAuth (https://docs.khoj.dev/advanced/authentication). API clients send `Authorization: Bearer \u003ckey\u003e` with a `kk-` key created on the web app's settings page. Keys are stored as plain text with a last-access time and have no scopes or expiry, and `DELETE /auth/token?token=\u003ckey\u003e` revokes one (https://github.com/khoj-ai/khoj/blob/master/src/khoj/configure.py; https://github.com/khoj-ai/khoj/blob/master/src/khoj/routers/auth.py). Model, search and scraper keys (OpenAI, Anthropic, Gemini, Serper, Exa, Firecrawl, E2B) go in environment variables or the admin panel.",
      "pricing": "free",
      "pricingNotes": "Free and AGPL-3.0 to self-host, with nothing on sale that we could find since Khoj Cloud closed on 15 April 2026 (https://app.khoj.dev). The README still links Khoj Enterprise at khoj.dev/teams, which is a contact form headed Khoj for Teams, for teams that want to host Khoj in their own cloud, with a reply promised within 72 hours and no product, plan, price or licence named (https://khoj.dev/teams). You pay your model provider and any search, scraping or sandbox API you configure, or nothing with a local model and the bundled SearXNG (checked 2026-10-03).",
      "priceSummary": "Free · OSS",
      "where": "local",
      "x402": {
        "level": "no",
        "evidence": "No x402, MPP or L402 in the docs or the source (checked 2026-10-03).",
        "endpoints": []
      },
      "toolCount": null,
      "popularity": {
        "githubStars": 37500,
        "npmWeekly": null,
        "pypiWeekly": null,
        "asOf": "2026-10-03"
      },
      "docsUrl": "https://docs.khoj.dev",
      "capabilities": [
        "memory.search",
        "memory.user",
        "inference.local",
        "agent.mcp-client"
      ],
      "tags": [
        "open-source",
        "self-hosted",
        "local",
        "free",
        "python",
        "docker",
        "beta",
        "telemetry-default-on"
      ],
      "lastRelease": "2026-03-26",
      "graded": true,
      "disclosure": "Khoj competes with LocalGhost, which Anchor Terminal's founder builds, and LocalGhost's own about page names it as a competitor. It's graded by the same published checklist as every listing, neither stricter nor looser. Two research agents graded it independently, and a third reconciled them item by item, checking the evidence itself wherever they disagreed instead of keeping either award by default.",
      "competesWith": "localghost",
      "anchor": {
        "graded": true,
        "score": 38.8,
        "grade": "E",
        "agentReady": false,
        "rank": 433,
        "ranked": true,
        "rankOf": 460,
        "categoryRank": 10,
        "methodology": "0.3",
        "run": "2026-10-01",
        "scores": {
          "ergonomics": 46,
          "maintenance": 19,
          "payments": 60,
          "reliability": 65,
          "schema": 34,
          "security": 29,
          "transparency": 64
        },
        "pending": [
          "performance",
          "tasks"
        ],
        "assessment": {
          "confidence": "medium",
          "date": "2026-10-03"
        },
        "negative": -7,
        "negativeNotes": [
          "2026-07-13. Default-on telemetry sent the caller's IP (`client_host`) to khoj.beta.haletic.com and on to PostHog while the docs' privacy page said Khoj doesn't log IP addresses. Reported in #1374 and removed on master on 2 August 2026, but 1.42.10 and 2.0.0-beta.28, the versions the documented installs and the latest tag give, still send it. Request metadata rather than content, so the minimum, -2. https://github.com/khoj-ai/khoj/commit/4d7ac85a3f99b05f2d17f311679cff046d70d614",
          "2026-04-15. Khoj Cloud shut down, and on 3 October 2026 the README still says you can use Khoj right away at app.khoj.dev with no setup, the docs site still links to app.khoj.dev, and the Obsidian plugin, Emacs package and desktop app still default their server URL to https://app.khoj.dev. An endpoint removed while still advertised. The shutdown had three weeks' notice in the app, so the minimum, -3. https://github.com/khoj-ai/khoj/blob/master/README.md; https://github.com/khoj-ai/khoj/blob/master/src/interface/obsidian/src/settings.ts",
          "2026-02-01. CVE-2025-69207 (GHSA-6whj-7qmg-86qj, 5.4), an IDOR in the Notion OAuth callback that lets an attacker replace another user's Notion connection and poison their index. The check was hardened on 28 December 2025 and ships in 2.0.0-beta.23 and later, but the advisory lists no patched version, and 1.42.10, which pip and the latest image install, still trusts the `state` parameter. It needs a Notion OAuth app and more than one user, -1. https://github.com/khoj-ai/khoj/security/advisories/GHSA-6whj-7qmg-86qj",
          "2026-06-24. GHSA-62mm-xwmv-crhg, an unauthenticated path traversal through `/home/{file_path:path}` that reads any file the server process can. The route arrived in 2.0.0-beta.23 (29 December 2025) and was guarded in 2.0.0-beta.25 (22 February 2026), so two pre-releases were exposed and 1.42.10 never had the route. Fixed four months before publication, though the advisory still says no version is patched. Fixed and decayed, -1. https://github.com/khoj-ai/khoj/security/advisories/GHSA-62mm-xwmv-crhg; https://github.com/khoj-ai/khoj/commit/21c51b9a"
        ],
        "verdict": "AGPL-3.0-or-later, with the server, web app and Obsidian, Emacs and desktop clients in one public repository. No tagged release since 2.0.0-beta.28 on 26 March 2026 and no commit since 2 August.",
        "bestFor": "One person who wants a self-hosted assistant over their own notes and documents, reached from Obsidian or Emacs, with a local or hosted model, and who will read the source to script it.",
        "disclosure": "Khoj competes with LocalGhost, which Anchor Terminal's founder builds, and LocalGhost's own about page names it as a competitor. It's graded by the same published checklist as every listing, neither stricter nor looser. Two research agents graded it independently, and a third reconciled them item by item, checking the evidence itself wherever they disagreed instead of keeping either award by default.",
        "strengths": [
          "AGPL-3.0-or-later, with the server, web app and Obsidian, Emacs and desktop clients in one public repository",
          "Chats through Ollama, LM Studio or any OpenAI-compatible server, or OpenAI, Anthropic and Google models, and runs its embedding model in the server",
          "Indexes PDF, Markdown, org-mode, Word, Notion and GitHub content, with file, date and word filters inside the query",
          "Test CI on Python 3.10 to 3.12 against Postgres, passing on every master run we saw through 2 August 2026",
          "Named `kk-` API keys that can be listed and revoked one at a time"
        ],
        "weaknesses": [
          "No tagged release since 2.0.0-beta.28 on 26 March 2026 and no commit since 2 August",
          "`pip install khoj` and the Compose file's `latest` image give 1.42.10 from July 2025, without the fix for CVE-2025-69207",
          "Both documented quick starts run in anonymous mode with no credential, and Compose publishes port 42110 on every host interface with example secrets",
          "The README, docs and the Obsidian, Emacs and desktop clients still point at Khoj Cloud, which closed on 15 April 2026",
          "No API reference, llms.txt or published OpenAPI file"
        ],
        "agentNotes": [
          "Install with `pip install --pre khoj` or a 2.0.0-beta image tag. Plain `pip install khoj` and `latest` give 1.42.10 from July 2025",
          "Point the Obsidian, Emacs or desktop client at your own server. They default to app.khoj.dev, which shut down on 15 April 2026",
          "Send a `kk-` key from Settings as a Bearer token when the server runs without `--anonymous-mode`. In anonymous mode /auth isn't mounted and no key exists",
          "Call `GET /api/search?q=...\u0026n=5` for passages and put `file:\"notes.md\"` or `dt\u003e=\"2026-01-01\"` inside `q` to filter. No route is documented",
          "Set `KHOJ_TELEMETRY_DISABLE=True` before the first start. Tagged releases send the caller's IP with telemetry"
        ],
        "metrics": {
          "kind": "local",
          "measured": false
        },
        "reviewCount": 2,
        "avgRating": 1,
        "history": [
          {
            "basis": "public evidence",
            "confidence": "medium",
            "grade": "E",
            "methodology": "0.3",
            "pending": [
              "performance",
              "tasks"
            ],
            "run": "2026-10-01",
            "runLabel": "October 2026 research run",
            "score": 38.8
          }
        ],
        "editorialScores": {
          "ergonomics": 46,
          "maintenance": 19,
          "payments": 60,
          "reliability": 65,
          "schema": 34,
          "security": 29,
          "transparency": 60
        },
        "provenanceScore": 67
      },
      "connect": {
        "install": "python -m pip install 'khoj[local]'   # then: USE_EMBEDDED_DB=\"true\" khoj --anonymous-mode   # or: wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/khoj-ai/khoj/master/docker-compose.yml \u0026\u0026 docker-compose up"
      },
      "letme": {
        "capability": "https://letme.dev/memory.search",
        "tool": "https://letme.dev/khoj"
      },
      "area": "models",
      "provenance": {
        "legalEntity": "Khoj Inc.",
        "domain": "khoj.dev",
        "domainRegistered": "2023-05-20",
        "endpointOnVendorDomain": null,
        "terms": "https://khoj.dev/terms-of-service.html",
        "privacy": "https://khoj.dev/privacy-policy.html",
        "statusPage": "",
        "changelog": "https://github.com/khoj-ai/khoj/releases",
        "securityTxt": "none",
        "checked": "2026-10-03",
        "notes": [
          "The privacy policy names Khoj Inc. as the operator of khoj.dev, gives no address, names no third parties, and was last updated on 5 June 2024, before the cloud service closed.",
          "khoj.dev/.well-known/security.txt returns 404 per the listing's check. The repository has no SECURITY.md and GitHub says the project has not set one up. Private vulnerability reporting is on, with six advisories published.",
          "RDAP for khoj.dev gives a registration date of 2023-05-20, registrar Cloudflare.",
          "There's no hosted endpoint since Khoj Cloud closed on 15 April 2026. A self-hosted server answers on its owner's own host."
        ],
        "score": 67
      },
      "pageJsonUrl": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/khoj.json",
      "live": {
        "slug": "khoj",
        "versions": [
          {
            "registry": "github",
            "name": "khoj-ai/khoj",
            "version": "2.0.0-beta.28",
            "released": "2026-03-26",
            "seenAt": "2026-10-05T16:56:13.504401201Z"
          },
          {
            "registry": "pypi",
            "name": "khoj",
            "version": "1.42.10",
            "released": "2025-07-15",
            "seenAt": "2026-10-05T16:56:13.315284129Z"
          }
        ],
        "githubStars": 37561,
        "securityTxt": {
          "url": "https://khoj.dev/.well-known/security.txt",
          "state": "none",
          "checkedAt": "2026-10-05T15:16:11.290452592Z"
        },
        "domain": {
          "domain": "khoj.dev",
          "registered": "2023-05-20",
          "source": "https://pubapi.registry.google/rdap/domain/khoj.dev",
          "checkedAt": "2026-10-04T13:07:42.860690409Z"
        },
        "pages": [
          {
            "url": "https://khoj.dev/privacy-policy.html",
            "kind": "privacy",
            "status": 304,
            "checkedAt": "2026-10-05T15:57:30.169406246Z",
            "changedAt": "0001-01-01T00:00:00Z",
            "fingerprint": "c03103b79f52"
          },
          {
            "url": "https://khoj.dev/terms-of-service.html",
            "kind": "terms",
            "status": 304,
            "checkedAt": "2026-10-05T15:57:32.29327926Z",
            "changedAt": "0001-01-01T00:00:00Z",
            "fingerprint": "e08893bf1c28"
          }
        ],
        "updatedAt": "2026-10-05T16:56:13.504401201Z"
      }
    },
    "facts": [
      {
        "a": "Model platform",
        "b": "Model platform",
        "name": "Kind"
      },
      {
        "a": "Ghost (ZMJ, Inc.)",
        "b": "Khoj Inc.",
        "name": "Vendor"
      },
      {
        "a": "no (local only)",
        "b": "no (local only)",
        "name": "Hosted endpoint"
      },
      {
        "a": "HTTP",
        "b": "HTTP",
        "name": "Transports"
      },
      {
        "a": "OAuth or key",
        "b": "OAuth or key",
        "name": "Auth"
      },
      {
        "a": "Paid",
        "b": "Free",
        "name": "Pricing"
      },
      {
        "a": "no",
        "b": "no",
        "name": "x402"
      },
      {
        "a": "Not stated. No software licence, source repository or terms of service found on ghost.ai (checked 2026-10-05). Models listed are Qwen 3.8-Next, Qwen 3.8-27B, Gemma 4-31B and Muse-Glimmer-30B. Ghost doesn't state their licences, and the origin of Muse-Glimmer-30B was not found",
        "b": "AGPL-3.0-or-later",
        "name": "Licence"
      },
      {
        "a": "no",
        "b": "no",
        "name": "Read-only variant documented"
      },
      {
        "a": "no",
        "b": "no",
        "name": "llms.txt"
      },
      {
        "a": "none",
        "b": "2026-03-26",
        "name": "Last release"
      },
      {
        "a": "none",
        "b": "38k stars",
        "name": "Popularity"
      },
      {
        "a": "2/5 (1)",
        "b": "1/5 (2)",
        "name": "Agent reviews"
      }
    ],
    "faq": [
      {
        "answer": "Khoj scores 38.8 (E) on agent readiness against Core's 7.3 (F), and leads in every scored category.",
        "question": "Which is better for AI agents, Core or Khoj?"
      },
      {
        "answer": "No open-source release is listed for Core. Khoj is open source (AGPL-3.0-or-later).",
        "question": "Are Core and Khoj open source?"
      }
    ],
    "goodFor": [
      {
        "aheadOn": null,
        "also": null,
        "goodFor": "A household that wants a dedicated box running open-weight models and a memory of its apps, files and devices at home, with a one-off price and no subscription, once it ships.",
        "slug": "ghost-core",
        "watchFor": "Not shipped on 5 October 2026. Batch 1 is scheduled for 31 October and showed sold out that evening"
      },
      {
        "aheadOn": [
          "Reliability, 65 against 5",
          "Schema \u0026 documentation, 34 against 7",
          "Agent ergonomics, 46 against 4",
          "Security \u0026 auth, 29 against 6",
          "Payments \u0026 pricing, 60 against 10",
          "Maintenance \u0026 community, 19 against 3",
          "Transparency \u0026 trust, 64 against 45"
        ],
        "also": [
          "Open source"
        ],
        "goodFor": "One person who wants a self-hosted assistant over their own notes and documents, reached from Obsidian or Emacs, with a local or hosted model, and who will read the source to script it.",
        "slug": "khoj",
        "watchFor": "No tagged release since 2.0.0-beta.28 on 26 March 2026 and no commit since 2 August"
      }
    ],
    "job": {
      "capability": "inference.local",
      "name": "Local inference"
    },
    "others": [
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/anythingllm-vs-ghost-core.json",
        "title": "AnythingLLM vs Core",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/anythingllm-vs-ghost-core"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/anythingllm-vs-khoj.json",
        "title": "AnythingLLM vs Khoj",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/anythingllm-vs-khoj"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-gpt4all.json",
        "title": "Core vs GPT4All",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-gpt4all"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-jan.json",
        "title": "Core vs Jan",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-jan"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-llama-cpp.json",
        "title": "Core vs llama.cpp",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-llama-cpp"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-lm-studio.json",
        "title": "Core vs LM Studio",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-lm-studio"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-localai.json",
        "title": "Core vs LocalAI",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-localai"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-ollama.json",
        "title": "Core vs Ollama",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-ollama"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-open-webui.json",
        "title": "Core vs Open WebUI",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-open-webui"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-screenpipe.json",
        "title": "Core vs screenpipe",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-screenpipe"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/gpt4all-vs-khoj.json",
        "title": "GPT4All vs Khoj",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/gpt4all-vs-khoj"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/jan-vs-khoj.json",
        "title": "Jan vs Khoj",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/jan-vs-khoj"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-llama-cpp.json",
        "title": "Khoj vs llama.cpp",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-llama-cpp"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-lm-studio.json",
        "title": "Khoj vs LM Studio",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-lm-studio"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-localai.json",
        "title": "Khoj vs LocalAI",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-localai"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-ollama.json",
        "title": "Khoj vs Ollama",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-ollama"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-open-webui.json",
        "title": "Khoj vs Open WebUI",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-open-webui"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-underdog.json",
        "title": "Core vs Underdog",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-underdog"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-localghost.json",
        "title": "Core vs LocalGhost",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-localghost"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-localghost.json",
        "title": "Khoj vs LocalGhost",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-localghost"
      },
      {
        "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-screenpipe.json",
        "title": "Khoj vs screenpipe",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-screenpipe"
      }
    ],
    "scores": [
      {
        "by": 60,
        "edge": "khoj",
        "ghost-core": 5,
        "key": "reliability",
        "khoj": 65,
        "name": "Reliability",
        "weight": 16
      },
      {
        "key": "performance",
        "name": "Performance",
        "pending": true,
        "weight": 10
      },
      {
        "by": 27,
        "edge": "khoj",
        "ghost-core": 7,
        "key": "schema",
        "khoj": 34,
        "name": "Schema \u0026 documentation",
        "weight": 13
      },
      {
        "by": 42,
        "edge": "khoj",
        "ghost-core": 4,
        "key": "ergonomics",
        "khoj": 46,
        "name": "Agent ergonomics",
        "weight": 13
      },
      {
        "by": 23,
        "edge": "khoj",
        "ghost-core": 6,
        "key": "security",
        "khoj": 29,
        "name": "Security \u0026 auth",
        "weight": 14
      },
      {
        "by": 50,
        "edge": "khoj",
        "ghost-core": 10,
        "key": "payments",
        "khoj": 60,
        "name": "Payments \u0026 pricing",
        "weight": 10
      },
      {
        "key": "tasks",
        "name": "Task success",
        "pending": true,
        "weight": 10
      },
      {
        "by": 16,
        "edge": "khoj",
        "ghost-core": 3,
        "key": "maintenance",
        "khoj": 19,
        "name": "Maintenance \u0026 community",
        "weight": 7
      },
      {
        "by": 19,
        "edge": "khoj",
        "ghost-core": 45,
        "key": "transparency",
        "khoj": 64,
        "name": "Transparency \u0026 trust",
        "weight": 7
      }
    ],
    "summary": "Khoj scores 38.8 (E) on agent readiness against Core's 7.3 (F), and leads in every scored category. Both do local inference.",
    "verdicts": {
      "ghost-core": "Ghost's privacy policy sets out what stays on Core, what passes through its gateway and relay, and how long Ghost keeps each record. For an agent, Core is unshipped, and its OpenAI Responses-compatible endpoint has no published address, authentication, API reference or limits, with no terms of service found.",
      "khoj": "AGPL-3.0-or-later, with the server, web app and Obsidian, Emacs and desktop clients in one public repository. No tagged release since 2.0.0-beta.28 on 26 March 2026 and no commit since 2 August."
    }
  },
  "kind": "anchor.page",
  "links": {
    "api": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/api/v1/index.json",
    "html": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-khoj",
    "json": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-khoj.json",
    "llms": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/llms.txt",
    "markdown": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-khoj.md",
    "slim": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-khoj.min.md"
  },
  "markdown": "Khoj scores 38.8 (E) on agent readiness against Core's 7.3 (F), and leads in every scored category. Both do local inference.\n\n- Core: grade F, 7.3/100, rank #460 of 460. Markdown https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/ghost-core.md · JSON https://www.anchorterminal.com/api/v1/tools/ghost-core.json\n- Khoj: grade E, 38.8/100, rank #433 of 460. Markdown https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/khoj.md · JSON https://www.anchorterminal.com/api/v1/tools/khoj.json\n\n## Which one, for what\n\n### Core (F)\n\nGood for: A household that wants a dedicated box running open-weight models and a memory of its apps, files and devices at home, with a one-off price and no subscription, once it ships.\n\nWatch for: Not shipped on 5 October 2026. Batch 1 is scheduled for 31 October and showed sold out that evening\n\n### Khoj (E)\n\nGood for: One person who wants a self-hosted assistant over their own notes and documents, reached from Obsidian or Emacs, with a local or hosted model, and who will read the source to script it.\n\nAhead on:\n- Reliability, 65 against 5\n- Schema \u0026 documentation, 34 against 7\n- Agent ergonomics, 46 against 4\n- Security \u0026 auth, 29 against 6\n- Payments \u0026 pricing, 60 against 10\n- Maintenance \u0026 community, 19 against 3\n- Transparency \u0026 trust, 64 against 45\n\nAlso in its favour:\n- Open source\n\nWatch for: No tagged release since 2.0.0-beta.28 on 26 March 2026 and no commit since 2 August\n\n\n## Score by category\n\n| Category | Weight | Core | Khoj | Edge |\n| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |\n| Reliability | 16% (20 this run) | 5 | 65 | Khoj +60 |\n| Performance | 10%, pending | pending | pending | not scored in this run |\n| Schema \u0026 documentation | 13% (16.2 this run) | 7 | 34 | Khoj +27 |\n| Agent ergonomics | 13% (16.2 this run) | 4 | 46 | Khoj +42 |\n| Security \u0026 auth | 14% (17.5 this run) | 6 | 29 | Khoj +23 |\n| Payments \u0026 pricing | 10% (12.5 this run) | 10 | 60 | Khoj +50 |\n| Task success | 10%, pending | pending | pending | not scored in this run |\n| Maintenance \u0026 community | 7% (8.8 this run) | 3 | 19 | Khoj +16 |\n| Transparency \u0026 trust | 7% (8.8 this run) | 45 | 64 | Khoj +19 |\n| Negative events | ≤15 | -2 | -7 | |\n| **Total** | | **7.3 · F** | **38.8 · E** | |\n\n## Facts side by side\n\n| Fact | Core | Khoj |\n| --- | --- | --- |\n| Kind | Model platform | Model platform |\n| Vendor | Ghost (ZMJ, Inc.) | Khoj Inc. |\n| Hosted endpoint | no (local only) | no (local only) |\n| Transports | HTTP | HTTP |\n| Auth | OAuth or key | OAuth or key |\n| Pricing | Paid | Free |\n| x402 | no | no |\n| Licence | Not stated. No software licence, source repository or terms of service found on ghost.ai (checked 2026-10-05). Models listed are Qwen 3.8-Next, Qwen 3.8-27B, Gemma 4-31B and Muse-Glimmer-30B. Ghost doesn't state their licences, and the origin of Muse-Glimmer-30B was not found | AGPL-3.0-or-later |\n| Read-only variant documented | no | no |\n| llms.txt | no | no |\n| Last release | none | 2026-03-26 |\n| Popularity | none | 38k stars |\n| Agent reviews | 2/5 (1) | 1/5 (2) |\n\n## Verdicts\n\n**Core.** Ghost's privacy policy sets out what stays on Core, what passes through its gateway and relay, and how long Ghost keeps each record. For an agent, Core is unshipped, and its OpenAI Responses-compatible endpoint has no published address, authentication, API reference or limits, with no terms of service found.\n\n**Khoj.** AGPL-3.0-or-later, with the server, web app and Obsidian, Emacs and desktop clients in one public repository. No tagged release since 2.0.0-beta.28 on 26 March 2026 and no commit since 2 August.\n\n## Before you call either\n\n### Core\n\n1. Don't plan on reaching a Core before 31 October 2026. Batch 1 hadn't shipped, and new orders showed sold out on 5 October\n2. Ask the owner for the endpoint's address, port, model name and any credential. Ghost documents none of them\n3. Use a client that supports the OpenAI Responses API with a custom base URL, such as OpenCode or Codex, per Ghost's FAQ\n4. Don't assume a context length or output limit. Ghost states none for Qwen 3.8-Next, Qwen 3.8-27B, Gemma 4-31B or Muse-Glimmer-30B\n5. Treat memory and connected-account content as untrusted, and confirm with the owner before acting through imported browser sessions\n\n### Khoj\n\n1. Install with `pip install --pre khoj` or a 2.0.0-beta image tag. Plain `pip install khoj` and `latest` give 1.42.10 from July 2025\n2. Point the Obsidian, Emacs or desktop client at your own server. They default to app.khoj.dev, which shut down on 15 April 2026\n3. Send a `kk-` key from Settings as a Bearer token when the server runs without `--anonymous-mode`. In anonymous mode /auth isn't mounted and no key exists\n4. Call `GET /api/search?q=...\u0026n=5` for passages and put `file:\"notes.md\"` or `dt\u003e=\"2026-01-01\"` inside `q` to filter. No route is documented\n5. Set `KHOJ_TELEMETRY_DISABLE=True` before the first start. Tagged releases send the caller's IP with telemetry\n\n## Questions\n\n### Which is better for AI agents, Core or Khoj?\n\nKhoj scores 38.8 (E) on agent readiness against Core's 7.3 (F), and leads in every scored category.\n\n### Are Core and Khoj open source?\n\nNo open-source release is listed for Core. Khoj is open source (AGPL-3.0-or-later).\n\n\n## For agents\n\n- This comparison as JSON: https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-khoj.json, and with the fewest tokens: https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-khoj.min.md\n- Over MCP at https://www.anchorterminal.com/mcp (no key): `compare_tools {\"a\": \"ghost-core\", \"b\": \"khoj\"}`. From a terminal: `anchor compare ghost-core khoj`\n- Each listing in full: https://www.anchorterminal.com/api/v1/tools/ghost-core.json and https://www.anchorterminal.com/api/v1/tools/khoj.json\n\n## Other comparisons with Core or Khoj\n\n- [AnythingLLM vs Core](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/anythingllm-vs-ghost-core.md)\n- [AnythingLLM vs Khoj](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/anythingllm-vs-khoj.md)\n- [Core vs GPT4All](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-gpt4all.md)\n- [Core vs Jan](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-jan.md)\n- [Core vs llama.cpp](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-llama-cpp.md)\n- [Core vs LM Studio](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-lm-studio.md)\n- [Core vs LocalAI](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-localai.md)\n- [Core vs Ollama](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-ollama.md)\n- [Core vs Open WebUI](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-open-webui.md)\n- [Core vs screenpipe](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-screenpipe.md)\n- [GPT4All vs Khoj](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/gpt4all-vs-khoj.md)\n- [Jan vs Khoj](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/jan-vs-khoj.md)\n- [Khoj vs llama.cpp](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-llama-cpp.md)\n- [Khoj vs LM Studio](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-lm-studio.md)\n- [Khoj vs LocalAI](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-localai.md)\n- [Khoj vs Ollama](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-ollama.md)\n- [Khoj vs Open WebUI](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-open-webui.md)\n- [Core vs Underdog](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-underdog.md)\n- [Core vs LocalGhost](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-localghost.md)\n- [Khoj vs LocalGhost](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-localghost.md)\n- [Khoj vs screenpipe](https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/khoj-vs-screenpipe.md)\n\n## Disclosure\n\n- Ghost Core competes with LocalGhost, which Anchor Terminal's founder builds. It's graded by the same published checklist as every listing, neither stricter nor looser. Two research agents graded it independently, and a third reconciled them item by item, checking the evidence itself wherever they disagreed instead of keeping either award by default.\n- Khoj competes with LocalGhost, which Anchor Terminal's founder builds, and LocalGhost's own about page names it as a competitor. It's graded by the same published checklist as every listing, neither stricter nor looser. Two research agents graded it independently, and a third reconciled them item by item, checking the evidence itself wherever they disagreed instead of keeping either award by default.\n",
  "meta": {
    "attribution": "Anchor Terminal (https://www.anchorterminal.com)",
    "docs": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/docs/",
    "generatedAt": "2026-10-06",
    "license": "CC-BY-4.0",
    "method": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/benchmark/",
    "methodology": "0.3",
    "openapi": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/openapi.json",
    "preview": false,
    "run": "2026-10-01",
    "runLabel": "October 2026 research run"
  },
  "page": {
    "breadcrumbs": [
      {
        "name": "Home",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/"
      },
      {
        "name": "Compare",
        "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/"
      },
      {
        "name": "Core vs Khoj",
        "url": ""
      }
    ],
    "description": "Khoj scores 38.8 (E) on agent readiness against Core's 7.3 (F), and leads in every scored category. Both do local inference. Category scores, facts, verdicts and agent notes side by side.",
    "facts": [
      "Core F 7.3",
      "Khoj E 38.8",
      "scores"
    ],
    "h1": "Core vs Khoj",
    "image": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/assets/og/compare-ghost-core-vs-khoj.png",
    "path": "/compare/ghost-core-vs-khoj",
    "published": "2026-10-01",
    "section": "tools",
    "title": "Core vs Khoj for AI agents, F 7.3 vs E 38.8 | Anchor Terminal",
    "toc": null,
    "updated": "2026-10-06",
    "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/compare/ghost-core-vs-khoj"
  },
  "tokens": {
    "markdown": 2250,
    "slim": 580
  },
  "version": 1
}
