{
  "meta": {
    "attribution": "Anchor Terminal (https://www.anchorterminal.com)",
    "docs": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/docs/",
    "generatedAt": "2026-10-12",
    "license": "CC-BY-4.0",
    "method": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/benchmark/",
    "methodology": "0.4",
    "openapi": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/openapi.json",
    "preview": false,
    "run": "2026-10-01",
    "runLabel": "October 2026 research run"
  },
  "tool": {
    "slug": "openai-dots",
    "name": "Dots",
    "vendor": "OpenAI",
    "vendorUrl": "https://chatgpt.com",
    "kind": "platform",
    "category": "personal-assistants",
    "summary": "Dots is OpenAI's always-on agent inside ChatGPT, in beta. Each dot has a cloud computer and browser, keeps notes, works between conversations across connected apps, and answers in ChatGPT, by voice call, Slack and Teams.",
    "url": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/openai-dots",
    "markdownUrl": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/openai-dots.md",
    "slimMarkdownUrl": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/openai-dots.min.md",
    "jsonUrl": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/api/v1/tools/openai-dots.json",
    "license": "Proprietary hosted service. The governing terms were not read",
    "transports": [],
    "packages": [],
    "auth": "mixed",
    "authNotes": "A person signs in to ChatGPT on an eligible plan and creates a dot in the mobile app, desktop app or a desktop browser. No API key or other credential for outside programs was found. Apps are reached through plugins connected to the ChatGPT account, each with its own connected account and allowed actions. Website logins go through a private form to the cloud browser outside the conversation, sessions last until sign-out or expiry, and reusing a saved login needs confirmation. A local computer is connected with Allow access and removed with Revoke access. Where tokens and saved passwords are stored is not stated (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/computers-and-apps; https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/getting-started).",
    "pricing": "paid",
    "pricingNotes": "Included with ChatGPT Pro at $100, $200 or $500 a month, Business Premium (price not found on the pages read) and Enterprise through sales. Conversations with a dot do not count towards ChatGPT usage limits. Tasks it starts in ChatGPT Work or Codex count towards those limits. The plan includes an allowance for deeper work with no figure given, extended for the first month after launch. No free tier or trial for dots was found (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots#access; https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing, checked 2026-10-12).",
    "priceSummary": "$100 / mo",
    "where": "local",
    "x402": {
      "level": "no",
      "evidence": "No x402, MPP or L402 in the Dots docs, the admin guide or the pricing page (checked 2026-10-12).",
      "endpoints": []
    },
    "toolCount": null,
    "popularity": {
      "githubStars": null,
      "npmWeekly": null,
      "pypiWeekly": null,
      "asOf": "2026-10-12"
    },
    "docsUrl": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots",
    "llmsTxt": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/llms.txt",
    "capabilities": [
      "assistant.proactive",
      "assistant.accounts",
      "assistant.memory",
      "assistant.messaging"
    ],
    "tags": [
      "hosted",
      "closed-source",
      "beta",
      "chatgpt",
      "slack",
      "teams",
      "voice",
      "cloud-browser",
      "approvals",
      "paid",
      "llms-txt"
    ],
    "lastRelease": "2026-10-09",
    "graded": true,
    "anchor": {
      "graded": true,
      "score": 28.3,
      "grade": "F",
      "agentReady": false,
      "rank": 973,
      "ranked": true,
      "rankOf": 986,
      "categoryRank": 17,
      "methodology": "0.4",
      "run": "2026-10-01",
      "scores": {
        "ergonomics": 22,
        "maintenance": 38,
        "payments": 10,
        "reliability": 3,
        "schema": 41,
        "security": 58,
        "transparency": 31
      },
      "pending": [
        "performance",
        "tasks"
      ],
      "breakdown": [
        {
          "key": "reliability",
          "name": "Reliability",
          "weight": 16,
          "effectiveWeight": 20,
          "score": 3,
          "points": 0.6,
          "reason": "Read as a hosted service. No status page is linked from the Dots docs, the admin guide, the pricing page or the release notes, and the hosts where one might be linked refused our reader, so both status lines score as absent and are listed as unchecked (0 and 0). The access section mentions an allowance for deeper work and extended limits for the first month, with no numbers (0). The docs say Pause stops only the main task, that stopping does not undo completed actions and that a completed run does not confirm the result was achieved or delivered. No retry or overload guidance was found (3 of 15). No SLA found (0). The admin setting is labelled Use dots (Beta), access is rolling out gradually and Teams is an invite-only alpha (0)."
        },
        {
          "key": "performance",
          "name": "Performance",
          "weight": 10,
          "effectiveWeight": 0,
          "pending": true,
          "points": 0,
          "reason": "Pending. Latency is measured per call by our probes, which haven't run yet, so this run doesn't score it. Its weight is shared across the assessed categories until the first probe window closes."
        },
        {
          "key": "schema",
          "name": "Schema \u0026 documentation",
          "weight": 13,
          "effectiveWeight": 16.25,
          "score": 41,
          "points": 6.66,
          "reason": "Dots has no API or tool definitions, so this is graded on the documentation a person or a model would work from. No machine-readable contract (0). learn.chatgpt.com/llms.txt lists the six Dots pages and the admin guide, each with a Markdown twin (10). The overview says what a dot is for, compares it with Chat, ChatGPT Work and Codex by when to use each, and has a table of what each kind of connection enables (14 of 20). The only enumerated inputs are the four custom rule settings (2 of 15). Example prompts for a first responsibility, a schedule and event monitoring, with no documented errors or failure states (6 of 15). A weekly What's new page with dated entries, three of them on dots, and no version numbers (9 of 15)."
        },
        {
          "key": "ergonomics",
          "name": "Agent ergonomics",
          "weight": 13,
          "effectiveWeight": 16.25,
          "score": 22,
          "points": 3.58,
          "reason": "No programmatic interface, so an outside agent cannot call a dot and these lines are read for the person directing it. The owner can say which changes deserve a notification and where updates go, with no stated control over answer size (5 of 25). Activity and Scheduled views list delegated and recurring tasks in the desktop app (3 of 20). Requests for a decision, app connection, sign-in or approval appear in Activity, and no error list is documented (5 of 20). The docs warn that stopping does not undo completed actions and give no retry or duplicate-action guidance (3 of 20). Setup can keep the defaults and skip plugins, and there is no SDK (6 of 15)."
        },
        {
          "key": "security",
          "name": "Security \u0026 auth",
          "weight": 14,
          "effectiveWeight": 17.5,
          "score": 58,
          "points": 10.15,
          "reason": "Access is through the owner's ChatGPT sign-in, which we could not read about. App connections run under each plugin's connected account and allowed actions, website passwords go to the cloud browser through a private form outside the conversation, reuse of a saved login needs confirmation, and local computer access is revocable. Where tokens and saved passwords are stored is not stated (20 of 30). An automatic review precedes any action that could affect accounts or share information, custom rules have four settings including hand-off, app permissions can allow reading mail without sending, and proactive research tools cannot send or change anything. The docs say rules are instructions the dot tries to follow and can get wrong (16 of 20). The admin guide says built-in safeguards defend against malicious instructions and can pause or stop work, and that messages from other people in Slack do not start work. No further guidance was found (9 of 15). An Activity view for the owner, and Compliance API records of user messages and replies for Enterprise, with coverage the docs tell admins to confirm (9 of 15). A security whitepaper for ChatGPT Work is published and does not mention dots. security.txt answers 404 on the docs host, and no disclosure policy, bounty or certification was on a page we could read (4 of 20)."
        },
        {
          "key": "payments",
          "name": "Payments \u0026 pricing",
          "weight": 10,
          "effectiveWeight": 12.5,
          "score": 10,
          "points": 1.25,
          "reason": "No x402, MPP or L402 (0). Plan prices are public on the docs pricing page, Pro at $100, $200 or $500 a month, with no figure for the dots allowance and no price found for Business Premium (10). Dots is not listed for the Free, Go or Plus plans and no trial was found (0). A person signs in to ChatGPT and creates the dot in an app or browser (0)."
        },
        {
          "key": "tasks",
          "name": "Task success",
          "weight": 10,
          "effectiveWeight": 0,
          "pending": true,
          "points": 0,
          "reason": "Pending. Task success needs the category task suites run through each tool, which haven't run yet, so this run doesn't score it. Its weight is shared across the assessed categories until then. A data provider's data-quality score is published on its listing now and becomes half of this category when it's scored."
        },
        {
          "key": "maintenance",
          "name": "Maintenance \u0026 community",
          "weight": 7,
          "effectiveWeight": 8.75,
          "score": 38,
          "points": 3.33,
          "reason": "The newest dated entry is the dots release note for 5 to 9 October 2026, three days before the check (30). Dots first appears in the DevDay note of 29 September 2026 and the weekly digest for 28 September to 2 October, which describe the same launch, so we count two dated entries, not three (0). A weekly public changelog and a community forum linked from the docs. The help centre refused our reader (8 of 15). No SDK, package or registry entry for dots (0). No package to assess (0)."
        },
        {
          "key": "transparency",
          "name": "Transparency \u0026 trust",
          "weight": 7,
          "effectiveWeight": 8.75,
          "score": 31,
          "points": 2.71,
          "note": "editorial 26, provenance 36",
          "reason": "Closed service. No page we read names the terms that govern Dots, and openai.com answered 403, so the terms line scores as absent and is listed as unchecked (0 of 30). The docs say ChatGPT data controls apply, that OpenAI does not train directly on proactive research or private notes, and that Enterprise data is not used to improve models by default. The ChatGPT Work cloud security page gives deletion within 30 days for deleted chats and a separate lifecycle for execution state. For a dot's own notes no retention period or per-note deletion is given, and the admin guide's reset link lands on the delete section. The privacy policy was not read (12 of 30). A feature maturity page defines Beta and says anything marked Stable is typically removed through a deprecation process, and the pricing page gives a dated model retirement. No policy for dots itself (8 of 20). Work runs on OpenAI-managed infrastructure with OpenAI's own model named. No sub-processor list or hosting location was on a page we could read (6 of 20)."
        }
      ],
      "assessment": {
        "date": "2026-10-12",
        "basis": "public evidence",
        "confidence": "low",
        "notes": {
          "ergonomics": "No programmatic interface, so an outside agent cannot call a dot and these lines are read for the person directing it. The owner can say which changes deserve a notification and where updates go, with no stated control over answer size (5 of 25). Activity and Scheduled views list delegated and recurring tasks in the desktop app (3 of 20). Requests for a decision, app connection, sign-in or approval appear in Activity, and no error list is documented (5 of 20). The docs warn that stopping does not undo completed actions and give no retry or duplicate-action guidance (3 of 20). Setup can keep the defaults and skip plugins, and there is no SDK (6 of 15).",
          "maintenance": "The newest dated entry is the dots release note for 5 to 9 October 2026, three days before the check (30). Dots first appears in the DevDay note of 29 September 2026 and the weekly digest for 28 September to 2 October, which describe the same launch, so we count two dated entries, not three (0). A weekly public changelog and a community forum linked from the docs. The help centre refused our reader (8 of 15). No SDK, package or registry entry for dots (0). No package to assess (0).",
          "payments": "No x402, MPP or L402 (0). Plan prices are public on the docs pricing page, Pro at $100, $200 or $500 a month, with no figure for the dots allowance and no price found for Business Premium (10). Dots is not listed for the Free, Go or Plus plans and no trial was found (0). A person signs in to ChatGPT and creates the dot in an app or browser (0).",
          "reliability": "Read as a hosted service. No status page is linked from the Dots docs, the admin guide, the pricing page or the release notes, and the hosts where one might be linked refused our reader, so both status lines score as absent and are listed as unchecked (0 and 0). The access section mentions an allowance for deeper work and extended limits for the first month, with no numbers (0). The docs say Pause stops only the main task, that stopping does not undo completed actions and that a completed run does not confirm the result was achieved or delivered. No retry or overload guidance was found (3 of 15). No SLA found (0). The admin setting is labelled Use dots (Beta), access is rolling out gradually and Teams is an invite-only alpha (0).",
          "schema": "Dots has no API or tool definitions, so this is graded on the documentation a person or a model would work from. No machine-readable contract (0). learn.chatgpt.com/llms.txt lists the six Dots pages and the admin guide, each with a Markdown twin (10). The overview says what a dot is for, compares it with Chat, ChatGPT Work and Codex by when to use each, and has a table of what each kind of connection enables (14 of 20). The only enumerated inputs are the four custom rule settings (2 of 15). Example prompts for a first responsibility, a schedule and event monitoring, with no documented errors or failure states (6 of 15). A weekly What's new page with dated entries, three of them on dots, and no version numbers (9 of 15).",
          "security": "Access is through the owner's ChatGPT sign-in, which we could not read about. App connections run under each plugin's connected account and allowed actions, website passwords go to the cloud browser through a private form outside the conversation, reuse of a saved login needs confirmation, and local computer access is revocable. Where tokens and saved passwords are stored is not stated (20 of 30). An automatic review precedes any action that could affect accounts or share information, custom rules have four settings including hand-off, app permissions can allow reading mail without sending, and proactive research tools cannot send or change anything. The docs say rules are instructions the dot tries to follow and can get wrong (16 of 20). The admin guide says built-in safeguards defend against malicious instructions and can pause or stop work, and that messages from other people in Slack do not start work. No further guidance was found (9 of 15). An Activity view for the owner, and Compliance API records of user messages and replies for Enterprise, with coverage the docs tell admins to confirm (9 of 15). A security whitepaper for ChatGPT Work is published and does not mention dots. security.txt answers 404 on the docs host, and no disclosure policy, bounty or certification was on a page we could read (4 of 20).",
          "transparency": "Closed service. No page we read names the terms that govern Dots, and openai.com answered 403, so the terms line scores as absent and is listed as unchecked (0 of 30). The docs say ChatGPT data controls apply, that OpenAI does not train directly on proactive research or private notes, and that Enterprise data is not used to improve models by default. The ChatGPT Work cloud security page gives deletion within 30 days for deleted chats and a separate lifecycle for execution state. For a dot's own notes no retention period or per-note deletion is given, and the admin guide's reset link lands on the delete section. The privacy policy was not read (12 of 30). A feature maturity page defines Beta and says anything marked Stable is typically removed through a deprecation process, and the pricing page gives a dated model retirement. No policy for dots itself (8 of 20). Work runs on OpenAI-managed infrastructure with OpenAI's own model named. No sub-processor list or hosting location was on a page we could read (6 of 20)."
        },
        "sources": [
          {
            "what": "Dots overview and access",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "getting started",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/getting-started",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "messaging channels",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/channels",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "tasks and memory",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/tasks-and-memory",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "computers and apps",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/computers-and-apps",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "controls, custom rules, data settings, deletion",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/controls",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "admin guide for dots",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/enterprise/dots-admin-guide",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "pricing page for ChatGPT Work and Codex",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "llms.txt",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/llms.txt",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "dots release note, 5 to 9 October 2026 (Markdown twin)",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/whats-new/dots-october-9-2026.md",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "DevDay 2026 release note, 29 September 2026 (Markdown twin)",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/whats-new/devday-2026.md",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "What's new index (Markdown twin)",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/whats-new.md",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "feature maturity levels (Markdown twin)",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/feature-maturity.md",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "ChatGPT Work cloud security (Markdown twin)",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/enterprise/chatgpt-work-cloud-security.md",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "ChatGPT Work enterprise security whitepaper (PDF)",
            "url": "https://cdn.openai.com/pdf/chatgpt-work-enterprise-security.pdf",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "robots.txt, docs host",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/robots.txt",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "robots.txt, product host (closed to Anthropic agents)",
            "url": "https://chatgpt.com/robots.txt",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "security.txt on the docs host (404)",
            "url": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/.well-known/security.txt",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          },
          {
            "what": "RDAP record for chatgpt.com",
            "url": "https://rdap.verisign.com/com/v1/domain/chatgpt.com",
            "seen": "2026-10-12"
          }
        ],
        "openQuestions": [
          "Kind is `platform`. Dots is a hosted assistant used inside ChatGPT, Slack and Teams with no API of its own, which the briefs define as a desktop, web or phone app. It is graded as a hosted service.",
          "The lead's address was right and its description matched the docs. Dots is documented inside the Codex docs set and delegates to Codex and ChatGPT Work. We list it apart from `openai-codex` because it has its own docs section, admin guide, access rules and release notes. The owner may prefer to treat it as part of ChatGPT.",
          "Capability `agent.mcp-client` is not claimed. Dots uses ChatGPT plugins, and we did not read the plugin docs to establish whether a user can add an MCP server.",
          "unchecked: the terms and privacy policy that govern Dots. No page read names them, https://openai.com/policies answered 403, and `provenance.terms` and `provenance.privacy` are left out. OpenAI's other listings link https://openai.com/policies/services-agreement/ and https://openai.com/policies/privacy-policy/, which were not read. Consumer Terms of Use may govern Pro accounts.",
          "unchecked: a status page and its incident record. None is linked from the pages read, so Reliability scores both lines as absent. A linked status page with a clean record would add up to 50.",
          "unchecked: published security advisories and incidents, the disclosure policy, bounty and certifications. openai.com was closed to our reader, so the deduction of 0 means none was found on pages we could read, not that none exists.",
          "unchecked: chatgpt.com, including chatgpt.com/dots, chatgpt.com/pricing and the plan pages. Its robots.txt disallows anthropic-ai and Claude-Web from every path. The Business Premium price and the Pro plan comparison are unread.",
          "unchecked: four help centre articles linked from the docs (getting started with your dot, data controls, Pro plans, app permissions). help.openai.com answered each with a JavaScript check. We requested all four in one command before reading the first answer, which the brief forbids after a 403.",
          "unchecked: where app tokens, saved website passwords and the dot's notes are stored, how long notes are kept, and what the deletion confirmation says happens to conversations, memories and scheduled tasks.",
          "unchecked: the legal entity. No page read names it.",
          "The cloud security page and whitepaper describe ChatGPT Work Cloud. They name dots only for the shared cloud browser, network and local-access controls, so retention figures taken from them may not apply to dots.",
          "Maintenance counts the DevDay note and the weekly digest of the same week as one entry. Counting them separately would add 20.",
          "We sent 16 requests to learn.chatgpt.com, one over the brief's guide of about fifteen."
        ]
      },
      "negative": 0,
      "verdict": "Actions that affect accounts or share information pass an automatic review, and custom rules can require approval or a hand-off. Dots is a beta on Pro plans from $100 a month, and no status page, terms, privacy policy or way to delete individual saved notes was found in the pages we could read.",
      "bestFor": "A ChatGPT Pro or Enterprise user who wants ongoing work tracked across mail, documents, code and Slack with approval before sends.",
      "strengths": [
        "An automatic review checks each action that could affect accounts or share information against instructions, permissions and custom rules before it runs",
        "Custom rules have four settings, from acting without asking to handing the step to the owner, and app permissions can allow reading mail without sending",
        "Proactive research uses tools that cannot send messages, change app content or control a browser or computer, per the docs",
        "Website passwords are entered in a private form outside the conversation, and reusing a saved login needs the owner's confirmation",
        "Six docs pages with Markdown twins listed in llms.txt, and a dated release note for dots on 9 October 2026"
      ],
      "weaknesses": [
        "Beta. The admin setting is labelled Use dots (Beta), access is rolling out gradually, and Teams access is an invite-only alpha",
        "No way to view or delete individual saved notes is documented. The admin guide's link to reset options lands on the section for deleting the whole dot",
        "Custom rules are described as instructions the dot tries to follow and can get wrong, and an authorised write can run without a prompt where policy allows",
        "Pro consumer accounts in the European Economic Area, the United Kingdom and Switzerland are excluded, and the plan's allowance for deeper work has no published figure",
        "No status page, service terms or privacy policy is linked from the Dots docs, and openai.com and help.openai.com refused our reader",
        "No API, MCP endpoint or other documented way for an outside program to message a dot was found"
      ],
      "agentNotes": [
        "Say what may be sent. Asking a dot to draft replies does not permit sending them, and an action outside a stated scope needs another decision",
        "Stop three things separately. Pause stops the main task only, delegated tasks stop in Activity and recurring tasks in Scheduled, and completed actions are not undone",
        "Connect each thing separately. A messaging channel grants no access to an inbox, an app or a computer",
        "Sign out of websites and disconnect apps yourself when removing access. Revoking dots access or disconnecting an app does not delete information already obtained",
        "Keep the connected computer online with the ChatGPT app open for local work. Only one personal computer can be connected at a time"
      ],
      "metrics": {
        "kind": "remote",
        "measured": false
      },
      "reviewCount": 0,
      "avgRating": 0,
      "history": [
        {
          "basis": "public evidence",
          "confidence": "low",
          "grade": "F",
          "methodology": "0.4",
          "pending": [
            "performance",
            "tasks"
          ],
          "run": "2026-10-01",
          "runLabel": "October 2026 research run",
          "score": 28.3
        }
      ],
      "editorialScores": {
        "ergonomics": 22,
        "maintenance": 38,
        "payments": 10,
        "reliability": 3,
        "schema": 41,
        "security": 58,
        "transparency": 26
      },
      "provenanceScore": 36
    },
    "connect": {},
    "letme": {
      "capability": "https://letme.dev/assistant.proactive",
      "tool": "https://letme.dev/openai-dots"
    },
    "notable": [
      "Announced in OpenAI's DevDay 2026 release note dated 29 September 2026, which says dots are rolling out gradually to eligible accounts (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/whats-new/devday-2026)",
      "The overview says a dot is powered by GPT-6 Astra, lives in the cloud and has its own computer and browser, and that enterprise model controls and defaults do not apply to dots (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots; https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/enterprise/dots-admin-guide)",
      "Access is listed for Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 (users over 18 outside the European Economic Area, United Kingdom and Switzerland), Business Premium, and Enterprise, where dots are off until an administrator enables them (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots#access)",
      "The workspace permission is labelled Use dots (Beta). OpenAI's feature maturity page defines Beta as ready for broad testing with some aspects that may change (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/enterprise/dots-admin-guide; https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/feature-maturity)",
      "Before an action that could affect accounts or share information, an automatic review decides whether it proceeds, needs approval or must be done by the owner. Changing a password is always handed to the owner (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/controls)",
      "Custom rules take one of four settings, Take action without asking, Take action when you say so, Ask before taking action and Hand off to you. The docs call them instructions the dot tries to follow and say it can make mistakes (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/controls)",
      "The docs say OpenAI does not train models directly on proactive research or its private notes, and that ChatGPT data controls apply to eligible conversations and work (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/controls)",
      "A dot keeps its own saved notes, separate from ChatGPT saved memory. Changing a ChatGPT memory setting does not necessarily change notes already made, and disconnecting an app does not delete information already obtained (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/tasks-and-memory; https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/enterprise/dots-admin-guide)",
      "The admin guide links to saved memories and reset options at an anchor that lands on Delete your dot. That section tells the owner to read the confirmation for how deletion handles conversations, memories and scheduled tasks (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/controls)",
      "In Slack only the owner can direct a dot, and messages from other people do not start work. The dot may use other participants' messages as context when its owner brings it into a thread (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/enterprise/dots-admin-guide)",
      "Texting is marked coming soon and calls started by the dot are planned for after launch (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/channels)",
      "The docs for Dots sit in the Codex docs set on learn.chatgpt.com, and a dot can create and continue Codex and ChatGPT Work tasks, which count against those products' usage limits (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots)",
      "The release note for 5 to 9 October 2026 adds setup in the mobile app, search across ChatGPT conversations and Codex threads, and fixes for Outlook setup and for approval buttons hidden by large Gmail previews (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/whats-new/dots-october-9-2026)",
      "chatgpt.com's robots.txt disallows anthropic-ai and Claude-Web from every path. Our research agents run on a Claude model, so the product's own site, its pricing page and its plan pages were not read (https://chatgpt.com/robots.txt)"
    ],
    "area": "frameworks",
    "details": [
      {
        "label": "Status",
        "value": "Beta, rolling out gradually since the DevDay note of 29 September 2026. Teams access is an invite-only alpha, texting is coming soon (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots; https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/enterprise/dots-admin-guide; https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/channels)"
      },
      {
        "label": "Channels",
        "value": "ChatGPT mobile app, desktop app and desktop browser, voice calls inside ChatGPT, Slack direct messages and channel mentions, Microsoft Teams. Mobile web is not supported (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/channels)"
      },
      {
        "label": "Acts without asking",
        "value": "Works between conversations, decides when to wake, runs background agents and scheduled or event-triggered tasks. Proactive research is read-only. Actions that affect accounts or share information go through an automatic review that allows, asks or hands off. A custom rule can permit an action without asking (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/controls; https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/tasks-and-memory)"
      },
      {
        "label": "Accounts",
        "value": "Plugins installed for the ChatGPT account, with Gmail, Google Drive, GitHub and Outlook named, under each app's own permissions. Websites through the cloud browser with a private sign-in form and optional saved logins. One personal computer through the desktop app. Where app tokens and saved passwords are stored is not stated (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/computers-and-apps)"
      },
      {
        "label": "Memory and deletion",
        "value": "Relevant ChatGPT memory plus the dot's own saved notes on preferences, decisions and ongoing work, shared across channels. Delete removes the dot and cannot be undone. No per-note view or deletion and no retention period for notes was found (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/tasks-and-memory; https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/controls)"
      },
      {
        "label": "Where it runs",
        "value": "On OpenAI's cloud, on a cloud computer and browser that keep state between uses. The model named is OpenAI's GPT-6 Astra. Local work runs on the owner's connected computer while the ChatGPT app is open (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots; https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/computers-and-apps)"
      },
      {
        "label": "Training",
        "value": "The docs say OpenAI does not train directly on proactive research or private notes, and that ChatGPT data controls apply to eligible conversations and tasks. Enterprise data is not used to improve models by default (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots/controls; https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/enterprise/dots-admin-guide)"
      },
      {
        "label": "Plans",
        "value": "Pro at $100, $200 or $500 a month, Business Premium (price not found) and Enterprise through sales. Not listed for Free, Go, Plus or the $20 Business plan (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/dots#access; https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing)"
      },
      {
        "label": "Admin controls",
        "value": "Enterprise roles for Use dots, Add dots to Slack, Allow local computer access and Use custom rules for dots, plus cloud browser, network and computer use and plugin action controls. Compliance API records cover user messages and dots' replies (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/enterprise/dots-admin-guide)"
      },
      {
        "label": "API",
        "value": "None found for messaging or controlling a dot. The Analytics API and Compliance API are administrator interfaces for Enterprise workspaces (https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/enterprise/dots-admin-guide)"
      }
    ],
    "unitPrices": [
      {
        "item": "Pro 100",
        "unit": "month",
        "usd": 100,
        "note": "ChatGPT Pro plan, includes dots with an allowance for deeper work that has no published figure"
      },
      {
        "item": "Pro 200",
        "unit": "month",
        "usd": 200,
        "note": "ChatGPT Pro plan"
      },
      {
        "item": "Pro 500",
        "unit": "month",
        "usd": 500,
        "note": "ChatGPT Pro plan"
      }
    ],
    "provenance": {
      "legalEntity": "",
      "domain": "chatgpt.com",
      "domainRegistered": "2022-11-30",
      "endpointOnVendorDomain": null,
      "terms": "",
      "privacy": "",
      "statusPage": "",
      "changelog": "https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/whats-new",
      "securityTxt": "unknown",
      "checked": "2026-10-12",
      "notes": [
        "No page we read names the legal entity or the documents that govern Dots. The docs footer links https://openai.com/policies, which answered 403 to our reader, so `terms` and `privacy` are left out. OpenAI's other listings here link https://openai.com/policies/services-agreement/ and https://openai.com/policies/privacy-policy/. Neither was read today, and whether the consumer Terms of Use govern Pro accounts was not established.",
        "No status page is linked from the Dots docs, the admin guide, the pricing page or the release notes we read.",
        "learn.chatgpt.com/.well-known/security.txt answered 404. chatgpt.com is closed to Anthropic agents by its robots.txt and openai.com answered 403 on the one page requested, so neither host's security.txt was requested.",
        "The .com registry's RDAP record gives 30 November 2022 as the registration date of chatgpt.com, registrar MarkMonitor Inc.",
        "learn.chatgpt.com/robots.txt answered 200 and allows every path. help.openai.com/robots.txt allows the article paths, and four linked articles answered 403 with a JavaScript check. cdn.openai.com/robots.txt answered 404."
      ],
      "score": 36,
      "checks": [
        {
          "check": "Legal entity named",
          "value": "not found",
          "points": 0,
          "max": 20,
          "state": "no"
        },
        {
          "check": "Domain age",
          "value": "chatgpt.com, registered 2022-11-30 (3 years)",
          "points": 7,
          "max": 15,
          "state": "part"
        },
        {
          "check": "Endpoint on the vendor's domain",
          "value": "no hosted endpoint",
          "points": 0,
          "max": 0,
          "state": "na"
        },
        {
          "check": "Terms of service",
          "value": "nothing hosted, so the Proprietary hosted service. The governing terms were not read licence stands in",
          "points": 10,
          "max": 10,
          "state": "ok"
        },
        {
          "check": "Privacy policy",
          "value": "nothing hosted, not scored",
          "points": 0,
          "max": 0,
          "state": "na"
        },
        {
          "check": "Status page",
          "value": "not found",
          "points": 0,
          "max": 10,
          "state": "no"
        },
        {
          "check": "Changelog",
          "value": "published",
          "points": 10,
          "max": 10,
          "state": "ok"
        },
        {
          "check": "security.txt",
          "value": "could not be fetched",
          "points": 0,
          "max": 10,
          "state": "no"
        }
      ]
    },
    "pageJsonUrl": "https://www.anchorterminal.com/tools/openai-dots.json"
  }
}
